Follow Books Teacup and Reviews on WordPress.com
YA thriller
Review,  Thriller,  YA

Fright Night by Maren Stoffels @PRHGlobal @GetUnderlined // YA thriller

Fright Night was enjoyable, fast paced and interesting YA thriller. This was tagged horror but I felt this was less horror and more psychological drama about friendship, revenge, and Munchausen by Proxy rep.

YA thriller

Fright Night by Maren Stoffels

Publication Date : September 1st 2020

Publisher : Underlined

Genre : YA / Thriller / Psychological drama

Pages : 224

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Disclaimer : I received e-copy of this book from the PRH International via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.
This post contains affiliate links.

Synopsis

Full of menace and suspense comes this unputdownable original paperback thriller perfect for fans of Natasha Preston and Natalie D. Richards!

Sofia isn’t so sure about Fright Night. When she suggested it to her friends, she was only thinking of it as an excuse to get closer to Dylan. Now that it’s happening, she’s worried that spending the night in a deserted forest is a bad idea.

But it’s totally safe–there’s even a safe word if things get too intense. And they do. Sofia and her friends are forced to face their greatest fears, and suddenly? It’s too late to turn back.

Review

Fright Night was interesting thriller that revolved around seven characters and their night at Fright Night. The story was about friendship, revenge, child abuse, problem kids, secrets, facing past, and munchausen by proxy.

Writing was easy to follow and fast paced. It was written in first person narrative from Dylan, Sofia and Kelly’s perspective. There were chapter in the beginning of each part from murderer’s perspective making it curious who was it.

This was character driven plot that started with three friends Quin, Sofia and Dylan deciding to try Fright Night to help Dylan fight his fears. Dylan was hiding something from his friends. No one knew what happened to him and why he was living in Quin’s house.

Sofia felt lonely as new girl in school. It was Dylan who spoke to her first and invited her to his little group. She wanted to do something special for his birthday. While Sofia was collecting picture to gift Dylan, she found postcard at his old place with a threat on the back.

It was interesting to see who sent that post card to Dylan’s house, was he in some danger, what was he hiding from his friends and what was his past that he was ashamed of.

I was surprised to find three more characters in the story. Kelly and Sandy living in child service’s problem kids’ complex and Nell who volunteered in their complex. Kelly and Sandy joined the Fright Night as staff and Nell was with her friend Martin in Quin, Dylan, and Sofia’s group to enter the Fright Night. It was interesting to see how they would fit in the story and how they all were connected.

All characters were realistic. Sofia, Nell and Quin were most likable. Dylan was mysterious. It was clear he had tough past and as it was revealed in between chapters, it was easy to root for him. What he went through was sad. I could understand why he reacted so badly when he thought his secret might be coming out. I liked how he realised his mistakes and came back for his friends.

Friendship was well presented. I liked the bond between Quin and Dylan. There was also prospect of relationship between Sofia and Dylan and Kelly and Nell.

Fright Night setting was atmospheric. I enjoyed reading the stages characters went through. Most were not that horrible but insect zone was disgusting and it truly sent a shiver through me. What I liked most was Dylan’s past, revelation of his secret, and munchausen by proxy rep.  

Climax was tense. I worried for characters and I was on the edge to see how they were going to get out of the situation. I suspected two characters and I felt something off about them from the beginning but I was surprised to find one of them not as bad as looked. End was sad.

Why 3.5 stars-

I wish this was a bit longer with more fright stages. Seven characters in 200 pages so it took half of the book in character building and their background and another half had interesting parts Fright Night chapters along with Dylan’s past. This was tagged horror but I felt this was less horror and more psychological drama. If you’re looking for chill and thrill, you would be disappointed.

Overall, Fright Night was enjoyable, fast paced and interesting YA thriller.

I recommend this if you like,
Story taking place in few hours
Quick read
Escape room or scary games trope
psychological drama
Munchausen by Proxy rep
Character driven story

Book Links

Add to Goodreads

Buy this book : Amazon.in | Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk

Buy horror : Amazon.in | Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk

Thank you for reading! Let’s chat…

What do you think about book and review? Have you read this already or any book by the same author? Which recent horror you enjoyed most?

Sign-off

Blog Instagram Twitter Facebook Pinterest Goodreads

Just in case you missed…

The Night of Many Endings by Melissa Payne
Weekly Wrap Up 
2021 July and August releases I added to TBR

Sign up to receive email whenever I publish new post-



Hi, I'm Yesha, an Indian book blogger. Avid and eclectic reader who loves to read with a cup of tea. Not born reader but I don't think I’m going to stop reading books in this life. “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

12 Comments

Leave a comment

Follow Books Teacup and Reviews on WordPress.com
%d bloggers like this: