Follow Books Teacup and Reviews on WordPress.com
November didn't start as good as I hoped
Wrap-Up

November didn’t start as good as I hoped #weeklywrapup

Hello readers! I hope you all are well and had a great week. My week hasn’t been bad but it feels like life keeps getting in the way more lately. Some things and some people makes me feel mentally drained but there isn’t much I can do about it than make sure I have my ‘me time’ to take care of myself. But the book I picked at the beginning of November didn’t help with it. So my November didn’t start as good as i hoped for and as I couldn’t talk about things going on in life here nor I could read much to have the reading update, I didn’t have the energy to write weekly updates until now. Thankfully, my current reads are much better and hopefully, I can cheer myself up and make the remaining November better.

There has been a rhyme recitation competition in my kid’s school. Even with all practice, she still needed help from teacher to perform. I just hope she performs in annual fuction in December. Thankfully, it’s school’s responsibility to see where she fits in act they are going to prepare and making her practice for it.

November didn't start as good as I hoped

What I read last week-

Berliners by Vesper Stamper

Not good choice to start month with but this was NetGalley PDF and that means I had to read it on ADE and finish it before it expires and I only had 15 days left!! I liked the historical part about family living under Russian sector of the Berlin until the Wall was built that fractured already struggling relationship between family and also seperated Twin brother whose ideology clashed from the beginning and more when things started to get tense with State security giving tough time to family and people around the time wall was built. But this was too slow for my liking and I didn’t like the lack of developement in one of the twin brothers, also lack of epilogue that could eloberate the regret and guilt that brother felt at the end.

Currently reading

A Light in the Forest by Melissa Payne

From Melissa Payne, bestselling author of The Night of Many Endings, comes an emotional and suspenseful novel about the weight of secrets and the healing power of friends and family.

Vega Jones escapes an abusive relationship with nothing but her two-month-old baby and the van she grew up in. Her destination is a small Ohio town her late vagabond mother left years ago. It’s one full of nobodies, her mother warned. That makes it the ideal refuge for Vega to lie low, feel safe, and maybe learn more about a past her mother never spoke of.

Vega warms to the town and to new acquaintances like Heff, the young deputy and artist who prefers his yard art to actual policing, and empathetic Eve, a local farmer whose near-death experience gave her more than just her life back. But even in this welcoming community, there’s an undercurrent of something unsettled, talk of a tragedy that unfolded in the woods years ago, and a mystery connected to Vega in ways she couldn’t have anticipated.

As a mother on the run and following a path of mounting risks and illuminating secrets, Vega discovers that even during the darkest of times, there’s light in unexpected places.

I’m 30% through this book and it’s sad to read the situation Vega found herself into. She had a kid with abusing boyfriend and now she is on run with no ide where to go she could think of only one place, Crystal, a place she found in picture of her mother. She told her it’s town full of bullies and nobodies from where she had run away. Thinking as it’s not very popular town and her mother has connection, it’s best place to hide with a two months old kid. So far I like where things are going. There is so much emotions. All characters had terrible past and they still are trying to survive in world that hasn’t given themanything but fear and hate. There seem like many lose ends of all charcters so I can’t wait to see how they connect. There is little bit repitiveness in initial chapters but otherwise, like all other books I read by author, I love the writing.

Legendborn (Legendborn #1) by Tracy Deonn

After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants nothing to do with her family memories or childhood home. A residential program for bright high schoolers at UNC–Chapel Hill seems like the perfect escape—until Bree witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus.

A flying demon feeding on human energies.

A secret society of so called “Legendborn” students that hunt the creatures down.

And a mysterious teenage mage who calls himself a “Merlin” and who attempts—and fails—to wipe Bree’s memory of everything she saw.

The mage’s failure unlocks Bree’s own unique magic and a buried memory with a hidden connection: the night her mother died, another Merlin was at the hospital. Now that Bree knows there’s more to her mother’s death than what’s on the police report, she’ll do whatever it takes to find out the truth, even if that means infiltrating the Legendborn as one of their initiates.

She recruits Nick, a self-exiled Legendborn with his own grudge against the group, and their reluctant partnership pulls them deeper into the society’s secrets—and closer to each other. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur’s knights and explain that a magical war is coming, Bree has to decide how far she’ll go for the truth and whether she should use her magic to take the society down—or join the fight.

Finally, I’m reading the famous Legendborn. I finsihed first part before weekend and now I’m starting second part today. So far, it’s interesting. I loved realistic prtrayal of Bree’s grief and loss in first part. I didn’t like her best friend, Alice’s overreaction and I feel sad for Bree for feeling alone in UNC–Chapel Hill’s early college program. There isn’t much about Legendborn- the group of magician who are kind of shadowhunter- yet but I’m curious to know more about them in second part.

Next I’ll be reading

Nubia: The Awakening by Omar Epps, Clarence A. Haynes

From beloved actor and producer Omar Epps and writer Clarence A. Haynes comes the biggest epic fantasy of the year. A powerful saga of three teens, the children of refugees from a fallen African utopia, who must navigate their newfound powers in a climate-ravaged New York City. Perfect for fans of Black Panther and Children of Blood and Bone.

For Zuberi, Uzochi, and Lencho, Nubia is a mystery. Before they were born, a massive storm destroyed their ancestral homeland, forcing their families to flee across the ocean to New York City. Nubia, a utopic island nation off the coast of West Africa, was no more, and their parents’ sorrow was too deep for them to share much of their history beyond the folklore.

But New York, ravaged by climate change and class division, is far from a safe haven for refugees, and Nubians live as outcasts, struggling to survive in the constantly flooding lower half of Manhattan, while the rich thrive in the tech-driven sky city known as the Up High.

To many, being Nubian means you’re fated for a life plagued by difficulties and disrespect. But Zuberi, Uzochi, and Lencho are beginning to feel there might be more. Something within them is changing, giving each of them extraordinary powers. Extraordinary and terrifying powers that seem to be tied to the secrets their parents have kept from them.

And there are people Up High watching, eager to do anything they can to become even more powerful than they already are. Now Zuberi, Uzochi, and Lencho will be faced with the choice–do they use their inheritance to lift their people, or to leave them behind. The fate of their city, and their people, hangs in the balance.

Thank you for reading! Let’s chat..,

What are you reading this week?

Blog Instagram Twitter Facebook Pinterest Goodreads

Just in case you missed,,,

The Stand-Up Groomsman (Donut Fall in Love #2) by Jackie Lau – Book Review
Donut Fall in Love (Donut Fall in Love #1) by Jackie Lau – Book Review

Sign up to receive email whenever I publish new post-


Hi, I'm Yesha, an Indian book blogger. Avid and eclectic reader who loves to read with a cup of tea. Not born reader but I don't think I’m going to stop reading books in this life. “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

28 Comments

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow Books Teacup and Reviews on WordPress.com
%d bloggers like this: