Follow Books Teacup and Reviews on WordPress.com
Wrap-Up

Weekly Wrap-up : (8/02/’21) #WeeklyWrapup #WeekinReading

Hello readers! I hope you all are well and had a great first week of February. My week in reading was good. I read 2 books watched one more episode of Bridgerton. I met my college friends after almost a decade. It was great getting in touch and spending time with them after long time.

What I read last week –

Murder on the Menu (The Nosey Parker Mysteries #1) by Fiona Leitch

I enjoyed description of Penstown, small town gossips, many other interesting secondary characters, Jodie’s van ‘Gimpmobile’, conversations between characters, chemistry between DCI Withers and Jodie, a cute dog, and so many humorous moments. It was fun cozy mystery set in fictional Cornish town. Check out fill review HERE.

The Invisible Woman by Erika Robuck

I didn’t know anything about Virginia Hall before reading this book and it was impressive to read about her but what I didn’t expect was even the secondary characters were real people from Virginia’s network. This was inspiring, emotional, raw, gritty, well researched and well written biographical historical fiction. It was hard to write review of this and it took me almost half day to think how I’m going to write the review but I finally wrote it last night. It will be up tomorrow.

Next I’ll be reading-

A Brush With Death (The Nosey Parker Mysteries #2) by Fiona Leitch

Jodie ‘Nosey’ Parker is back!

When a body turned up at her last catering gig it certainly put people off the hor d’oeuvres. So with a reputation to salvage, Jodie’s determined that her next job for the village’s festival will go without a hitch.

But when chaos breaks out, Jodie Parker somehow always finds herself in the picture.

The body of a writer from the festival is discovered at the bottom of a cliff, and the prime suspect is the guest of honour, the esteemed painter Duncan Stovall. With her background in the Met police, Jodie has got solving cases down to a fine art and she knows things are rarely as they seem.

Can she find the killer before the village faces another brush with death?

The second book in the Jodie ‘Nosey’ Parker cosy mystery series. Can be read as a standalone. A humorous cosy mystery with a British female sleuth in a small village. Includes one of Jodie’s Tried and Tested Recipes! Written in British English. Mild profanity and peril. 

This is tour book and I can’t wait to read how Jodie’s going to solve this another case.

A Taste for Love by Jennifer Yen

For fans of Jenny Han, Jane Austen, and The Great British Baking Show, A Taste for Love, is a delicious rom com about first love, familial expectations, and making the perfect bao.

To her friends, high school senior Liza Yang is nearly perfect. Smart, kind, and pretty, she dreams big and never shies away from a challenge. But to her mom, Liza is anything but. Compared to her older sister Jeannie, Liza is stubborn, rebellious, and worst of all, determined to push back against all of Mrs. Yang’s traditional values, especially when it comes to dating.

The one thing mother and daughter do agree on is their love of baking. Mrs. Yang is the owner of Houston’s popular Yin & Yang Bakery. With college just around the corner, Liza agrees to help out at the bakery’s annual junior competition to prove to her mom that she’s more than her rebellious tendencies once and for all. But when Liza arrives on the first day of the bake-off, she realizes there’s a catch: all of the contestants are young Asian American men her mother has handpicked for Liza to date.

The bachelorette situation Liza has found herself in is made even worse when she happens to be grudgingly attracted to one of the contestants; the stoic, impenetrable, annoyingly hot James Wong. As she battles against her feelings for James, and for her mother’s approval, Liza begins to realize there’s no tried and true recipe for love. 

Oh this sounds delicious. I don’t think I have read a romcom with Asian main characters that are not Indian. And I love that cover.


Have you read any of these books or going to read soon? What are you planning to read this week?

wp-1608020799658..jpg

Twitter instgram facebook Goodreads_edited Pinterest Bloglovin tumblr,

If you enjoy my posts and blog, please consider supporting me.

logo Kofi

Sign up to receive emails whenever I publish new post –


Instagram Post-

Hi, I'm Yesha, an Indian book blogger. Avid and eclectic reader who loves to read with a cup of tea. Not born reader but I don't think I’m going to stop reading books in this life. “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

0 Comments

  • Lydia Tewkesbury

    A Taste For Love sounds like so much fun! I love to cook, so I am always into books along that theme.

    Ooh I hope you are enjoying Bridgerton! I live in Bath in England, where a chunk of it was filmed, so there is some serious Bridgerton mania happening around here right now, haha.

    • Books Teacup and Reviews

      Haha, I can imagine! I would also would love to watch series or a movie filmed in my town. It’s really good and beautiful as well.

      I hope to enjoy A Taste For Love as well. It may turn out a good book to read around Valentine’s day.

Leave a comment

Follow Books Teacup and Reviews on WordPress.com
%d bloggers like this: