Follow Books Teacup and Reviews on WordPress.com
Review

Weekly Wrap-Up (15/6/’20) #WEEKINREADING #WeeklyWrapup

Hello Readers! Last week was slow in reading, I only read 1 book. I thought I will come up with a new discussion or list idea but it never took shape! I took a day or two break from blog as I wasn’t in mood for it. I’m enjoying domino so that’s something.

What I read last week-

Ghosts of Harvard by Francesca Serritella

This was almost 500 pages book (paperback is 600+). A bit slow but it was amazing. I enjoyed mystery and setting. This was second book I read set in Harvard. A book dealing with loss grief, mental illness (schizophrenia) was written beautifully with so much emotions. It was realistic and well researched. Ghosts were important part of the story but this is not horror/ghost story.

Next I’ll be reading-

The Jane Austen Society by Natalie Jenner

Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable.


One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England’s finest novelists. Now it’s home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen’s legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen’s home and her legacy. These people—a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others—could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. 

I’m on tour for this book and my stop is on 24th next week. I have read all good reviews on this. I’m not Jane Austen fan, I only read Pride and Prejudice but I enjoyed it and I hope this one will make me read other book by Austen.

From the Shadows (Monica Kennedy #1) by G.R. Halliday

A stunning, atmospheric police procedural set against the grit of Inverness and the raw beauty of the Scottish Highlands, this is the first book in the DI Monica Kennedy series.

Sixteen-year-old Robert arrives home late. Without a word to his dad, he goes up to his bedroom. Robert is never seen alive again.

A body is soon found on the coast of the Scottish Highlands. Detective Inspector Monica Kennedy stands by the victim in this starkly beautiful and remote landscape. Instinct tells her the case won’t begin and end with this one death.

Meanwhile, Inverness-based social worker Michael Bach is worried about one of his clients whose last correspondence was a single ambiguous text message; Nichol Morgan has been missing for seven days.

As Monica is faced with catching a murderer who has been meticulously watching and waiting, Michael keeps searching for Nichol, desperate to find him before the killer claims another victim.

From the Shadows introduces DI Monica Kennedy, an unforgettable new series lead, perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves’ Vera, Susie Steiner and Peter May. 

This is also tour book. My stop is next week on 23rd.


What are you planning to read this week? Have you read any of these books or going to add to TBR?

Happy Reading!

Footer Banner_edited
Follow me-

Twitter instgram facebook Goodreads_edited Pinterest Bloglovin

If you enjoy my posts and blog, please consider supporting me.

logo Kofi

Sign up to receive emails whenever I publish new post –


Hi, I'm Yesha, an Indian book blogger. Avid and eclectic reader who loves to read with a cup of tea. Not born reader but I don't think I’m going to stop reading books in this life. “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

0 Comments

Leave a comment

Follow Books Teacup and Reviews on WordPress.com
%d bloggers like this: